Sightscenes in the area, stuff to do and experience in our island
Walking in the Old Town of Corfu the first thing that one can meet is the Liston. The name of the area was given from the Venetian word “the lista”, which means a wide and straight road, where above the arcades and the beautiful arches there are buildings today. The building of the place was started between 1807-1814,when the island was under French Domination. Today it’s one of the most cosmopolitan sightseeings of the island where lots of visitors and residents visit it as well.
In the northeast side of the island we meet the Spianada. It is the biggest square of Europe and it is full of parks and monuments. It has created in the 19th century. Today it’s an ideal place for walks and for cricket matches between Corfu teams. On the upper part of the square, is the music stand, used regularly for all kinds of performances, a lot of shaded green area to escape the summer heat and even more monuments.
THE OLD TOWN
today these ancient streets cater mostly for the needs of tourists and with cafes, restaurants and souvenir shops aplenty, but despite this inevitable development, the greater part of the old city remains very authentic. Its all too easy to wonder away from the few busy streets and find yourself in another era, narrow streets between tall buildings with cloths hanging to dry between balconies, old people looking after their flowers, had it not been for the annoying presence of cars and scooters, it would be a scene out of a Hollywood film about Venice.
Just 3km from the centre of Corfu we meet the estate of Mon Repo. It was built in 1831 from an English commissioner and until 1991 was inaccessible for the residents of Corfu. It was a royal residence. The estate is spreading in 258 acres. The neoclassical palace is found in the middle of the estate and is surrounded by beautiful gardens that have over 2.000 different species of plants.
The trademark of Corfu constitutes the legendary Pontikonisi. According to the mythology Pontikonisi was the boat of the famous Odysseus which was transformed by Poseidon (the god of the sea) during a storm to a green rock. Today it’s a natural museum where everybody can admire its beauty. The transportation to the Pontikonisi is made by boats which they start from the famous Kanoni.
Lefkimmi constitutes one of the biggest areas in the south side of the island with a great history and sightseeings. In Rigglades village, the first village of the area is found a beautiful place called Alykes. The place took its name in the 15th century because there were factories for production of salt, where many residents were worked. In 1913 Alykes was in the 8th place all over Greece in the production of salt. From 1988, when the factories stopped working and until today, constitutes a resort for the visitors of the island.
Villa Maria located in southwest coast of Corfu in the municipality of Korission in the traditional and picturesque village of Perivoli.
FROM CORFU CITY
FROM NEAREST BEACH